• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New to Lovebirds + baby birds... Help!

Rainbowings

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Vi
Hi there! I am relatively new to birds in general. My mom did have a family parrot when I was a kid & I had 2 parakeets- but being a kid my mom did most of the work! Last year I got a pair of lovebirds. Not gonna lie- it was a knee jerk kinda thing & that was irresponsible. The parents were obviously not handled as chicks because they will not let me touch them at all. Anyway, not knowing much about lovebirds, I just assumed the box was where they slept. Very naive of me but I honestly didn't think about it beyond that. Well, here recently I found eggs & then of course hatched babies. They had 5 but one passed away. They all hatched at different times but I have a few questions please:

1. URGENT!!!! My littlest baby doesn't want to eat! I have tried formula & I don't think the parents are feeding it as much. The size difference between Pumpkin & the biggest Moose is quite profound! How do I get Pumpkin to take the formula?! It's crop looked mostly empty yesterday. I don't wanna lose little Pumpkin
2. When can I remove the nest/box? What can I put in the cage instead so they can sleep comfortably? I DO NOT want more breeding going on!
3. Can I keep them together as a flock? Otherwise where is the best place to find them good, forever homes? I am already attached & love them but not sure what to do.
4. My adult male (the daddy) Sunny, has started to pluck out his chest feathers. Why would he be doing that & how can I get him quit?

Sorry for so many questions! Thanks so, so much for any help!

Attachments

Rainbowings

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Vi
Thanks for the tags & trying to help... Just replying back to say Pumpkin has since passed away.