• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Wits End - Health/Behavioral Concerns

FlockMomma

Moving in
Hoping I post this in the right place. Long time reader, finally created an account to post. Warning, long.

My 8yr old female tiel is tearing my house apart, while teaching my new 4mo old possibly male her behaviors. I have 20 years of parrot hobbyist experience and I've never encountered such a trifle as this.

Sunshine is a tiel I took in almost five years ago as a rehome under the impression she wasn't getting proper time and care. It became immediately obvious she had trauma of being left alone, hands, certain rooms, environments, new items, everything was dangerous and out to get her, including me. She couldn't fly due to butchered wings, hated being active, and always screamed the moment I left her sight. She was also the first parrot I ever owned in a household that also had a dog and required having a set schedule and not constantly being out with me as she would fly to the kennel and the dog wants to eat her. Four years later she was a different bird, actively playing, better diet, healthier and her Avian always said I did so wonderful, snuggling, hanging out to play while I was on the computer, we've moved across the US since then together, and will move again soon.