• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New here... some questions

mira3321

Moving in
Real Name
Mira Blomerus
Hiya, I'm Mira and I'm new here! I am a minor and I have 2 male budgies and a female quaker parrot. I got the budgies first, they were my first birds ever and I've had and they've been with me for a few months so I'm very new to birds (though I did do almost year of studying to make sure I was ready). Now I got this quaker about 4 days ago from an owner who's had her for 7 years but couldn't take care of her anymore.
She is very tame and enjoys being with me, my older brother and our mother, but doesn't particularly care about the other family members (though sometimes she flies on top of their heads and refuses to leave).
The owner told us that she has always been prone to biting birthmarks and basically anything that sticks out on your skin (scratches and stuff included).
Is there any way to stop this? It's really not nice when she bites enough to draw a bit of blood.

Other thing I was wondering about is the noises she makes. I assume the 'KRAA' sound is normal quaker sounds, but she often jumps on top of my closet door or and starts this REALLY loud high-pitched screaming. She also does a lot of other high-pitched sounds that sound an awful lot like those of my budgies but much MUCH louder.
Could she be copying the budgies since she picks up really fast on sounds (she's still trying to learn how to do the kissy sound but when I first did it she stared at me for a while until i did it again she immediately started to do these little squeaks) or are they normal quaker sounds?

She also sometimes does some weird sounds while eating and preening sometimes, also pretty high-pitched.

Last edited by a moderator:

theocnoob

Jogging around the block
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Pablo and George