• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

How long can a Large 'Too be left alone per day?

Is my situation okay for a cockatoo?

• Total voters

GabeCast

Strolling the yard
Real Name
Gabe
I've been researching cockatoos on and off for almost two years now, trying not to just be one of those people who think "They're so cute! I want one!" and just buy the bird on the spot and having it be unhappy and eventually being re-homed. I have a full time job (40-45 hours a week) and a social life. At first when doing research on birds where you can have a full time job + social life, it came up with cockatiels and conures. After researching conures, that led me to macaws, which from what I read are conures with a bigger personality, but also more needs. Although I saw MANY people on forums who have full time jobs and go out with friends, and their macaw is fine: happy, healthy, perfect. So of course, me being me, I looked into cockatoos. They are undisputed champion for the most demanding bird, but also in my opinion the best. I've done google searches about leaving them home alone, and all I've come up with is people talking about leaving them alone for DAYS while on vacation. Of course I know you can't do this with any parrot, especially a cockatoo. So because I can't seem to find anything on this, I figured i'd make my own thread. Can I be gone 8-10 hours a day with a cockatoo? He will never be in his cage when i'm home (beside sleeping). I can promise you: he'd have TONS of toys, i'd leave the radio/TV on while i'm gone, the whole 9 yards. So that gives him a minimum of about 4 hours out of the cage with me, and up to 6-7. (based on the 12 hour sleep schedule per day) my worst nightmare is my bird plucking it's feathers, or being aggressive due to lack of socialization. Moulaccans seem like they have the most personality, but I also know that to have