• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Crimson Bellied Conure smells like spoiled fruit

Woogy

Checking out the neighborhood
Hi all, I'm new to avian avenue and was wondering if anyone coupd help me out.

I have 2 male crimson bellied conures, Archie has just turned 1 and Milo is about 10 months old and they constantly smell like spoiled fruit. It's quite strong and noticeable. Their faeces don't actually smell, it's just them.

At first I thought it was from the fruit and vegies I was feeding them but when I trialled not giving them any fruit or veg for a week they still had the same smell.

They have shared a cage for the last 8 months or so and preen and bath very consistently so I dont think hygiene is an issue. I clean the cage regularly and use vinegar when cleaning their tray but the smell doesn't alway come out even after soaking it and drying in the sun.

I can't really remember when I started noticing the smell or if Archie started smelling after I got Milo or if Milo smelt when I first got him but I think it's been going on for about 6 months. We also have a cockatiel who is 9 years old and she smells normal, their cages are next to each other but she doesn't come into contact with the other two. I took each bird to the vet soon after bringing them home and had blood tests done which came back all clear.

I currently feed them vetafarm nutriblend minis with a vegie based chop and some fruit. They get fresh water 1-2 times a day (depending how grubby they manage to make it lol, sometimes it needs a third change). Their bowls are scrubbed with detergent every morning and their covers are washed every 1-2 weeks.