• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

What's A Dwarf Budgie!?

MajesticOcelol

Walking the driveway
I've been offered a "dwarf budgie" from a breeder I've been conversing with for a couple of months. I'll be going round tomorrow to see his budgies and pick one out anyway.
But I've never heard of a dwarf budgie. Does anyone have one? Could you show me a picture?
I've tried researching them on google and there's nothing. :(

I may be being too sceptical about this, but could he be trying to pass off a runt of a litter onto me, to get it out his breeding stock? I know that's a terrible thing to think, but I don't want to get a little guy who's going to suffer his entire life because it's got a size deformity that isn't normal in budgies.

PoukieBear

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Michelle
I have never in my life seen or heard of a "dwarf budgie".

If it actually IS a "dwarf", and doesn't look like a normal budgie, then DO NOT BUY IT! It clearly has health issues, is not genetically strong. This could be due to poor breeding selection of it's parents, inbreeding, genetic disorders, or it could be a spontaneous mutation like in humans.

Clearly this "breeder" is trying to sell a non-healthy bird to an unsuspecting individual. Please don't fall for it!

I am curious to see it though, could you ask the breeder to send you some pictures?

MajesticOcelol

Walking the driveway
I asked when it was first mentioned and he said he'd see if he had any pictures of it. But he didn't. (Honestly, I know that must sound so suspicious, but he's honestly nice; his budgie pushed it's eggs from the nesting box, one of which I was going to take home once it was old enough, and he offered to buy some chicks when he was down south buying a pair of budgies.)