• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

What Type of Bird Should I Get?

vero

Checking out the neighborhood
Hi everyone,
I have decided that I am ready for a parrot and I have been looking into a couple species, but I'm not sure which one is right for me. Also, regardless of which species I choose I plan on spending another year researching so that I am fully prepared.

I have been looking into either an Orange Winged Amazon or an Eclectus Parrot. I would like to know which would be better for me or if I should look into a bird different from those.

I want a bird that is medium sized or larger. Noise is not a problem as I live in a standalone house. I don't care if the bird is cuddly but I would like for it to sit near or on me. I will be able to spend at least 4 hours of one on one time with the bird daily. The only thing is, I have no prior experience with birds, although so far I have done tons of research.

BeanieofJustice

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Real Name
Steph
Welcome to AA!

I would advise to go volunteer at a rescue near you - birds are all individuals, some fall in line with the tendencies you can read about, others don't. That way, you get to meet individual birds and you might be surprised who you come home with.

I know that Eclectus do require specialized diets, and I am not very familiar with Amazons.

Either way, good luck with your search!

cassiesdad

Ripping up the road
Weather Authority
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avian Angel
Real Name
Bob Weisman
Welcome to the Avenue. :)