• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Pictures Rescued pair of canary’s - misc questions

Anayevs

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Anastasiya
Hi all, I am very new to this world so thank you for any help and patience as I learn up as much as I can. My grandfather had 2 canary’s for about a year but can no longer take care of them so I took them in. I’m hoping I can post what I’ve done and get opinions/suggestions on how to make them happier.

Their cage was a mess so I cleaned it up by washing everything in hot soapy water, rinsing, soaking in a bleach solution for a few minutes, then rinsing heavily and washing with soap again. I rinsed it all very well afterwards and let it dry. I lined the cage bottom with paper towel.

For food I used the last of an expired bag of Zupreem pellets and a bit of kaytee seed mix, along with fresh apples, lettuce, cucumber, and bell pepper. We went to a local bird shop and got some of their house canary seed mix so I will be using that mixed with the kaytee for now.

I also got some millet, a wood perch (they only had dowels which I know aren’t the best), a swing, and a toy. The shop offers free nail trims so I will be bringing them both by soon to get that taken care of.