• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Really thinking about getting a conure

nm0710

Sprinting down the street
Real Name
Nicole
Hi all!
I saw an umbrella cockatoo and absolutely fell in love. I was sold the minute I saw his personality and I loved the talking. After really looking into it.. I don't think it'd be a good fit for a first time bird owner. After looking at some posts online, many sites suggest the conure as a first bird.

So first off I'm twenty one. I understand that they live for many years (i don't need a lecture on that). I'm also a full time student. I have time to play and socialize the bird but, how long should this be per day? I'm home afternoons/evenings. I wouldn't have any problems taking them out of the cage to run around.

How similar is their personalities to a larger bird (cockatoo)? I know that every bird is different in their own way.

As far as vets I've seen several different takes on this. Some say twice a year, once a year or you really don't have to worry about it unless they're sick. How much can I expect to spend for just the basic vet bill (not sick).

What kind of conure would you suggest? I'm looking for a bird that likes talking (I know some conures aren't the best talkers). I'm also looking for one that is playful. However, I'm not okay with constant screaming.

Male/female differences? I don't have a preference. But does one tend to be different than the other? If so what are their differences?

Do they do okay with other pets? I have two dogs and two cats. I know they will be very curious of the bird. I obviously wouldn't let the bird out with them around but I don't want it to feel tormented in its cage.

Anything other advise would be appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

Sylvi_

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Sylvi