• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

(Questions) - New to caring for birds. I have a 1 year old Green Cheek Conure. Wat do?

Cosmic

Checking out the neighborhood
I am new to this forum and I am new to caring for birds. I have a 1-year-old green cheek conure named Pipo and I also help my grandmother care for her 18-year-old Yellow-naped Amazon Parrot named Pepe.

In this thread, I will only talk about the green cheek due to the location of this post and talk about the Amazon parrot in a separate thread. My overall goal in bird care is to help the birds live long, happy, healthy lives and to treat the birds as if they were my own children and to build habits that will move me away from the emotional abuse and neglect I have suffered myself as a child. Although I may lack experience, I make up for it in enthusiasm and a willingness to learn.

This aside I have a few questions for you guys:

1. Food/Nutrition - What is the proper diet for a Green Cheek Conure? From my research, I have found that most people say that nutritional pellets are the way to go (Zupreem, Harrisons, etc.) due to supposedly having all of the vitamins, nutrients, minerals, etc. a bird needs. My grandmother has been raising and selling birds for years and says that seeds are the way to go and the pellets are more like treats than anything else. Who is correct and why? Any suggestions on brands, foods, etc?
  2. Cage situation - What should the proper cage size/dimensions be for a Green Cheek Conure? Currently, my Green Cheek Conure is housed in a 24 in. x 16 in. x 16 in. (L x W x H) cage. What cage size you do guys use?