• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New Parront Conure with abnormal droppings? please help.

Tonya Bautista

Checking out the neighborhood
Hi guys, I recently took in a Sun Conure and have never owned a bird. I am still learning. Here's a few facts; My guy was on a seed only diet when I got him. I have just in the last couple of days switched him to a pelleted diet, along with some sweet potato and a grape here and there. He's tried corn on 16729651_1730647337264596_1638043082_n.jpg 16709629_1731157420546921_2033709357_o.jpg the cob, fresh, flax seed (only today) and a couple of other veggies. The problem is that in the last several days, he's had some little bubbles in his poop and Spider-web like white urates. It hasn't been every dropping, only a dark green, soupy one first thing in the morning and maybe a few green ones with white urates throughout the day. occasionally some brown droppings with white. He was at the Vet's office last Tuesday and the vet said he looked great. He doesn't seem lethargic or ill... he is very high-energy and he gets at least 13 hours of sleep a day. Is it possible that the change in his diet, from seed only, to pelleted and fresh has caused this change in his poop?

Newbie GCC

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Real Name
Heather
Was your vet a certified avian veterinarian? Did he do a gram stain and bloodwork? There should not be bubbles in the poo. If your vet did not do a poop check and bloodwork, I would find a vet who is certified and have him rechecked to be sure.
Yes, some food can alter the color and consistency of the poo. The more watery the food, the more watery the poo. Grapes will do that. Poo should be a dark green to brown color.

Newbie GCC

Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Real Name
Heather