• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New owner, opposite sex budgies. Please help!!

Crash_Test

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Efren M
Hey there, new to AA, but currently need help! I'm a college student that has wanted budgies my whole life. I got one for Christmas, a male blue budgie named Gumball. Before the start of this spring semester, I decided to get a second budgie to be a companion for Gumball. I had thought I had gotten a male, but upon closer inspection, I think she's a female! She is a white budgie aptly named Marshmallow. I think both of these budgies are very young, no more than 5 months. I don't feel very comfortable with the idea of returning Marshmallow to the pet store in exchange for a male budgie, seeing as she has been a part of the family for nearly two weeks now! I also don't feel confident in my ability to care for a pair of opposite-sex budgies. These are my first pair of opposite-sex pets, let alone budgies. They seem to take to each other well. Neither are hand tamed. I'm just not sure how to move forward with them. If anyone has any advice, resources, or experience on how to tame, raise and care for two opposite-sex budgies please please please let me know! Or because of my inexperience with budgies, am I better off swapping out Marshmallow? I feel like that may be traumatizing for both of these little birds. I also feel it makes me a bad person to just "swap" her out like she's just a thing and not an animal. I've really grown attached to these two and I want to give them the best home I possibly can. Please help me!

AussieBird

Rollerblading along the road
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Call me AB
:welcometrain:
I wouldn't panic! If you want to make absolutely sure you have a boy and girl posts some pictures and we can help you with that :)