• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Help with budgie

Cat194

Moving in
Hello so i am fairly new to owning budgies i currently have 2, one i think is female and one confirmed male, the 'female' one has a loss of feathers near her vent and has a slightly swollen abdomen (not red) i am freaking out, i am unable to get to a vet for a while (money problems) and was wondering if anyone can help. She has been pooping regularly and they look normal, she is eating and acting normal aside from a bit lame. The other budgie she is with is completely healthy and normal, please help. I also thought she might be egg bound but my budgies aren't hands on budgies so they stress when being handled and i dont want to stress her more so i am scared to inspect her. i will try and get photos. i didn't want them breeding as i am new to owning them so there are no nesting areas at all in their cage.

Shezbug

ASK ME FOR PICTURES OF MY MACAW!
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
TAILGATING
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Real Name
Shez
Welcome :)

Photos of the vent area and the general shape of your budgie may be helpful for those members who are more experienced with egg laying so they can help you better.

I hope that all will be ok with your bird and that other members will be along shortly to offer some help and advice.

Cat194

Moving in
I have noticed her vent is dirty as well and also witnessed her pooing whilst trying to take the pictures. And i forgot to add she would be just over a year old and has never had this issue nor laid any eggs ever. She is the white one in the photos the other is my male i have also moved them into a warmer room (bathroom). these are the only decent photos i could snap as she moves as soon as i go near her sorry. 20190226_162006.jpg 20190226_162654.jpg 20190226_162148.jpg

Shezbug