• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

HELP! i have some questions about baby cockatiels

Fqmaster

Checking out the neighborhood
i have so question to ask a bird professional
when can i bath the cockatiel ?
is kaytee hand feeding formula safe for it ?
when should i start to ween it ?
how do i tell it gender ?
and how do it make it less afarid of me

your help would be appreciated !

thanks a ton !

barry collins

Sprinting down the street
Real Name
Barry
I will answer what I can for the sake of the little bird. But I do it with my hand on my face letting out a sigh. I am not a professional!

You have no need to bath a bird it will bath itself when it feels like it in either a dish of water or under running water either a shower or a tap or raindrops or if you feel it likes it you may mist water ABOVE its head not directly in its face,
Kaytee hand feeding formula is specifically designed for baby parrots so yes it is safe however the one thing that can be very unsafe is the human administering the food, please learn how to do it correctly. It is so important it can mean life or death.

You can start offering adult foods whenever you like but the commonly agreed weaning age should be from 8 to 12 weeks but food should be offered earlier than this for practice... say 6 weeks... however you should continue feeding formula until it is refused several days in a row straight and you have observed regular feeding of adult foods.
It is difficult to tell gender for sure unless you know the parents colours and it shows a sex linked gene or you have it DNA tested. It's gender will not matter for now.

To make it less afraid of you become less scary. Put yourself in its shoes so to speak. Imagine yourself in a cage with a giant 1000 times your mass staring at you all day and think what would make it less scary?

A few questions for you: