• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Pictures Hello from San Francisco

bosh

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Danielle
Hi! My name is Danielle. I'm a 27-year-old registered nurse from San Francisco, CA.

I recently welcomed an almost-six-month-old Solomon Island Eclectus boy into my home, named Pancho(or "Panchito" if you like). He has been home with me for a little over a week now, and so far, all seems to be going well. He received a thorough wellness check and clean bill of health from his avian vet, is sleeping and eating well(though he doesn't seem too big a fan of collard greens), and enjoys showing off his climbing and warbling skills. He loves to play with his rattle, and sit and cuddle while looking out the window - we have a nice view of the Pacific Ocean from my back window. I often have soft music playing for him, especially when I have to sleep during the day(I work the night shift at my hospital), and he sounds like he's trying to sing along sometimes!

My family kept smaller birds while I was growing up(budgies, mostly), but Pancho is my first "big" parrot. I want to make sure that I do right by him, and give him the best quality of life possible. I'm excited to hear and learn from other folks sharing their lives with birds.

My biggest concerns are ensuring that I always feed him a well-balanced, nutritious diet - he gets fresh-made chop every day, with non-colored pellets in a separate dish - and, especially when his flight feathers grow back(the woman who hand-reared him had clipped them), making sure he gets plenty of exercise and safe flight time.

Sorry if that was a lot. Any advice from more experienced "parronts" is welcomed! Thanks a bunch, and stay safe out there!

pancho.jpg
(Psst...Pancho says hello, too. :p)

Hankmacaw

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award