• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Cockatiel's stressful first day

Nukavine

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Jacob Goad
Okay, so I'm new to being a bird owner and I recently bought a Cockatiel. I got the same food brand from where he came from and I named him Sol. He doesn't have clipped wings, they put him in a box and we failed to get him in the cage and he flew into the corner. I had a friend with me that day so we tried to get him out, but we didn't get too close to him. We offered some strawberries but he wasn't having it. Eventually my step dad came in with some gloves on, got him and put him in the cage. He sat in the corner for about 30 minutes to an hour before climbing up to his top perch. It's about day 2 in terms of how long he's been here, how much will that first day set us back? He had a tight hold of my step dad's hand and was screaming, he was lucky he put on gloves. He's eating but not really approaching his water dish. He drank a bit but then went back up to his top perch. He has one up high near some toys and the one down low next to his food and water bowls. I do put a sheet over his cage and he seems calm but I can't tell if he's sleeping a lot. He's in my room and probably won't be leaving it much do to our cat that loves hanging out in the living room. If my hand gets close when I try to move the food he huffs and backs away to the other side.

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Michelle