• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Budgie and Lovebird Problem.

MrPine

Moving in
Real Name
Ryan
Alright, so I’m fairly new to being a bird owner. I have several budgies for about a year now. One of my budgies is extremely bonded to me. He flys onto my shoulders anytime I arrive home. He says several phrases and gives me kisses and what not.

Here’s my problem. I recently received a young lovebird from someone. I’ve read elsewhere that budgies don’t normally get along. The day I brought him in my budgies instantly became afraid of the kitchen (That’s where I’m currently keeping the lovebird.) I don’t have the option to get rid of either one (and frankly I wouldn’t want to.)
Yes, they live in separate cages. But I would want them to both be out at the same time. My budgies already have free reign of the house, and I would like it to stay that way.

My oldest budgie is a little over a year old, while the youngest is about 4 months. I’m guessing the lovebird is a couple months old. I would greatly appreciate any suggestions on how I could raise the lovebird so that he would get along with my other birds.
Thanks,
Ryan

Masquerade

Meeting neighbors
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Laura
I do have some experience with budgies and lovebirds so here's what I can offer. Although they're similar in size the two couldn't be much more different. I would consider budgies to be more of a passive breed, but lovebirds are aggressive and will let you know it. Their bodies are a lot stockier than budgies and their beaks are a lot bigger, so they can do a lot of damage to a budgie. Lovebirds, at least my two, also love feet and biting them, and will look for any opportunity to nip another bird's toes.