• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Best Specie to Pick as a Golden Conure Buddy?

nuggetluv

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Katie
Hi friends, it is my first time posting here so I am unsure of all the etiquettes but I know that most of you are really knowledgable on different bird species. I currently have a 6 month old golden conure and since I know that they love a large flock, I am thinking of adopting another bird to keep him in company. As of now I have considered cape parrots, blue headed pionus, an african grey, or any large size conure species. I am okay with a loud bird as long it doesn't hit cockatoo/macaw level and I am leaning on getting a male to decrease the likelihood of hormonal behavior. Does anyone know if any of these breeds are communal breeders like the golden, or that they are more likely to get along with other birds/less jealous? Any input is appreciated!

tka

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Your best best is probably another golden conure. Failing that, choose another large conure.

The other species you mention are very different, and are less likely to show similar levels of sociability and energy.

In addition, Greys produce powder down which can harm your conure's respiratory system.

Mizzely

Lil Monsters Bird Toys
Super Moderator
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Real Name
Shawna [she/her]
Another large conure is probably your best bet, possibly a small macaw. African Greys and Pionus to me don't feel compatible with the energy level of a conure. Capes I am not sure of but my Jardine's is also not as active as a conure would be.

Matto

Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Matt