• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

What Should I Do?

Avis

Meeting neighbors
Hello, I'm still learning how this forum works so I'm sorry if this thread is in the wrong place.

For the last three days I've been suffering from something I can only call heartbreak. Three days ago I was taken to a store called Northside Ranch, Pet & Garden Center and I saw a white cockatoo (I think an umbrella cockatoo) in a cage that was only just big enough to not be cruel to the bird. There was a macaw in an equally small cage right next to it. There are no toys in the cage, and both birds have turned to self-mutilation. :sad5: There are a few perches and ALL of them were sandpaper perches. Their food and water dishes were on the bottom of the cage, which isn't a big deal but in my opinion it's pretty unsanitary.
These birds were so skinny I could see the bones on their chests and they'd torn off all the feathers on their wings. :cry: Worse, they were on a seed and rainbow-pellet diet. (I've only heard from Birdtricks that the rainbow pellets are bad, so not sure how true it is) Mostly their bowls were full of sunflower seeds and nuts.