• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

plucking or molting? not sure

oikermit

Checking out the neighborhood
hello everyone that's reading this, i appreciate you stopping by.
i'm a bit new to bird ownership, having adopted my green cheek conure, nova, nearly four months ago (time flies by so quickly!)

about a month ago, when he turned five months old, he started losing a lot of his white downy feathers (and still is, they're all over the floor). so naturally, i assumed he was starting his first molt. but recently, as he approaches six months old, i've started noticing different feathers coming out. granted, they're small and still (i think?) downy feathers, they've just got color on the tips of them and are more feather-shaped. so in kicks my paranoia.
i immediately assumed plucking, but i'm sure this is a common fear in new bird owners. just tonight, nova was laying on my chest and was preening his chest, and he presented me with two feathers, which has me thinking he plucked them, but he didn't make any sounds of pain or anything when they'd come out.
another note, just before that happened i was scratching his cheeks and two little feathers came out no problem, so my mind is kind of going every which way here.

when looking up pictures of plucked feathers taken for dna testing and noticed they looked very similar, if not exactly alike, to the feathers i've been finding lately. (i will provide a picture of some of them if anyone is curious).

but i also read somewhere that six months old is too young for birds to begin plucking? is that true?

please help anyone!! i'm panicking!!

Lodah

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Sounds like molting to me! :fairy: Sometimes I can make a feather bed from Pilos small downy feathers that fall to the floor!

AbbyLove

Moving in
Real Name
Jeannie