• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New to cockatiels

chimera

Sitting on the front steps
Hi there. I recently bought a 4 month old pearl cockatiel and even though I've researched as much as possible I was wondering if there are any tips when starting out that people tend to overlook or not find so easily on the internet. I have no experience owning birds in the past so this is my first time.

S/he's just settling in and has been eating okay but I don't know if s/he's slept yet. I don't sleep as well as other people tend to and because of that I noticed that s/he's just been watching me cautiously at night. Had two night frights but that's pretty normal and was all okay when I put on a brighter lamp. Also tends to blink slowly when I'm not looking which I can't help but worry about because upon searching that up the first result is about sickness symptoms. S/he came from a popular store with good reviews that specializes mainly in birds and the staff are knowledgeable and offer free checkups and s/he's been checked by vets. S/he's eating okay, droppings look normal, I haven't *seen* any drinking yet but I really do not want to overlook anything because I would be really upset if anything's up later. I could ask my family as they owned ringnecks when I was too young to remember but they're different species + I don't think they'd remember that well.

I'm not taking them out and I'm letting them settle in okay before I attempt to slowly tame. I have been feeding pellets with a little bit of seed mix made for cockatiels. I have also been feeding cucumber (mostly water, I know) and carrot and slowly I will introduce more foods. S/he takes it willingly after a bit if I don't feed it myself.