• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New baby budgie healthy?

lly00n

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Lisa
Hi, this is my first time using this so sorry if I did it completely wrong haha.
I recently got a 4-5 week old budgie named Bumi from an ad. It seems healthy. He (or she, but I’ll just say he for now) is eating and begging for food, chirping, pooping, sleeping, trying to chew things, and drinking. I’m always overly paranoid whenever I get a new pet, no matter how much I’ve researched haha. Hopefully an experienced budgie owner (preferably breeder to be honest. Or at least experience breeding) finds this because I have a few questions. Since I’m still a minor, my parents probably won’t want me to take it to the vet for a check up if there’s nothing obviously wrong.
1. His skin seems a little red in the places where his feathers haven’t fully opened. Is that a normal thing for budgies…? I’ve heard it could be because of dehydration but he’s been drinking water, and he gets water from the formula.
2. He sleeps a lot. He sleeps for a long time after eating and only wakes up to eat again. But this is usually when he is warm in my arms, so maybe it’s because of the warmth? When he’s in his cage he seems to be more active.
3. While he’s awake, he often preens and scratches. I don’t know if this much preening is a normal thing, or if it could be mites. I also noticed some stuff on his beak and eyes. I’ll attach an image to see what you think because compared to photos of budgies with mites online, it seems a little different. I can’t tell if it’s the beginning stages of mites or if it’s just some leftover food stuck on it.