• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

My rescue screams ....a lot

AzKhaleesi

Strolling the yard
Real Name
Heather
Hi All,
I'm new to this but hoping for a bit of help....without judgment please. I have adopted a Goffin Cockatoo named June. She is absolutely amazing and beautiful and such a sweet sweet bird. She kisses and says hello and up up. I have recently taught her (almost) to say Love you. When she gives kisses I sing to her "Loooovee yoooouuuu" so now she'll kiss and go "yoooouuuu" It's super cute, anyhow.... For the past month or so she has begun to scream first just at night but now several times through out the day.... even when I or (we) are in the same room. I have tried EVERYTHING. New toys (check) foraging toys (check) ignoring the behavior ..... this is the trouble. I have teens in the house that can't seem to grasp to "ignore" the behavior, they will try their best but after a few minutes they cave and go get her. They are not mean to her or yell or anything they just go grab her. Sooooo I need some advice. How can I get her to stop or at least slow down her screaming? She is also a horrible plucker. I think this stems from her before humans whom were the only ones to own her before I. But they were elderly and the momma got sick and Dad had to surrender her which was super sad. I fell in love. Since then I have tried everything for her plucking. She wore a bubble for a while but she figured out how to pluck with it, so I got a bird cone, but I hate that she has to wear it all the time because the minute I take it off back to plucking she goes. Recently I have tried a more holistic approach with Bird Hemp oil. (animal grade) it has been helping the plucking, not enough to remove the cone just yet, but she finally has some pin feathers under her wing and left leg so she's not naked anymore there. It even calmed her screaming a