• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Cuddle huts

Cuttlefish

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Kayla
Hello! This is my first time posting on this Forum, but someone on Instagram said this would be a good place to ask for help.
I have a 5 year old love bird named Lucy who has had a little cuddle hut since a friend purchased her that she has had since she was 1. She sleeps in it nightly and is very protective of it(my little brother put some seeds and paper shedding in there to help her build her ‘nest’ and by the next day everything was cleaned out on the floor of the cage). I’ve heard many people say that these cuddle huts are not good for birds so I’ve tried to take it out a few times but it always results in her beginning to pluck her feathers and just screams until it’s placed back. I’m not sure if I should just leave her with it(she doesn’t tear at it or anything, just sleep or when she’s scared she goes and hides in it) or try something else to get it out of there.

Attachments

BirdWorld

Rollerblading along the road
Is she a DNA female? Cuddle huts can result in unwanted hormonal behavior in females and result in egg laying. It sounds like she is viewing it as a nest, which isn't a good thing. It can make her hormonal and aggressive, and she could lay a clutch of eggs, if she really is a she. You never want an unmated female to lay eggs because it could result in chronic egg laying or even egg binding. This is all assuming that she actually is a female bird, of course. Did you get her DNAd or just guessing? :)

Chase Hein

Walking the driveway
Real Name
Chase
Ive heard that cuttle huts can be very dangerous mentally and physically, they can get stuck or tangled, or have an increase in hormonal behavior like BirdWorld said. I dont have any advice for how to remove it. Sorry.

taxidermynerd

Biking along the boulevard