• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Anyone else getting the spring hormonal time right now?

KJsChicken

Moving in
Real Name
Doom
Hi I'm still relatively new to bird ownership, and my cockatiel has been hormonal lately. I know theres a period in the spring where birds go a little breeding crazy, so is anyone else experiencing that right now? It feels very early.

My bird has also taken a liking to my mom. You know- LIKE LIKE. And she didnt eat much today or yesterday, even treats, and isnt so interested in training, or anything at all, just screaming. It feels very weird, like she's a different bird suddenly.

So we're being extra careful with touching. Not touching the back and sides of parrots are important to me and I did just read up more on breaking. She hasnt been biting much or territorial, just mating with a lot.

Is this hormonal season??
Does it hit as hard as this for others?
Any ways to keep stress levels down? I'm afraid she'll start plucking or just become upset.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Xoetix

Biking along the boulevard
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
TAILGATING
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Real Name
Meghan (she/her)
Not so far with my tiel, Tteok, although his attitude the last week has been… difficult, we’ll call it :roflmao: He’s been pushing his luck every way he knows how, being extra bitey and just rude.

My too, Isadora? I’m beginning to think it’s coming. She’s been sassier than normal.

Pixiebeak

Biking along the boulevard
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
TAILGATING
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Real Name
Laura
Not eating would worry me some. Be watching make sure isn't sick.

Shezbug

ASK ME FOR PICTURES OF MY MACAW!
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
TAILGATING
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Real Name
Shez