• ALL Threads/Post in Rehome Highway will be reviewed for compliance to forum guidelines before being approved.
  • Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Life is forcing me to rehome my DYH Amazon family member Chloe, please help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

chloebirdlove

Moving in
Hi everyone,
This is my first time hearing about these forums. I was directed here after posting to r/parrots on reddit. To make things easier I will just copy and paste my post there, here. But some info first.

Area: Boston, MA
Bird: Chloe is a Double Yellow Headed Amazon

album of photos:
Chloe - Album on Imgur

Video Clips:

Hi everyone, I am in need of some guidance. I have had my parrot Chloe since 1997 (when she was still just a about a year old. She was my mothers bird from the start, and everyone else in the family was lucky if she gave you the time of day. She has been a great bird over these many years and a few times, her surroundings have changed due to circumstances out of our control. She was always in my family home, even though I was the one that mostly took care of her (she still loved my mother more btw).

Fast forward 15 years, I also got married and moved out. Chloe was now living with just my parents...that's when my mother got sick. Her Alzheimer's was taking a toll on us all, but especially my father who retired to become her caretaker so that she could be at home and not in a facility. He just couldn't take care of both my mom and Chloe, so I took her.