• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Wing feathers damaged

Reds

Sitting on the front steps
Hi, my 4 month old CAG has feather damage on his wings. I believe from his cage, however I’m not entirely sure what it’s from or how or to help it. He has seen the vet and the vet didn’t have any advice and wasn’t concerned about it. Any one else have advice? He is not clipped and loves to fly. It’s only his outer most wing feathers on both sides.
(Hopefully I posted this in the right thread? I’m a newbie)

CA4D51A0-D7B8-46EB-94E1-71CD04AD7EE8.jpeg EA34F76F-C885-4EF0-B63F-1C0C22594F8A.jpeg

Feather

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Young birds are pretty rough on their feathers. I wouldn't be concerned. He'll molt those out in a few more months and likely have a better idea of how to keep them in one piece by then.

Mark & Da Boyz

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Real Name
Mark
I wouldn't worry about it as was said young kids are hard on the "Clothes" and young birds are hard on the feathers. My teil, Nibble, looked like a duck on and off for a year from tearing up his tail feather.

PLUS he grow new ones and a bit anyway. My little rehomed GCC feathers where in bad shape when he came on and after 5+ months he looks almost as good as new.

Oh how big is his cage? If it's too small that could be a problem or if over stuffed with toys, I' the worse as that, BUT I don't really think you have to worry.

Reds

Sitting on the front steps
I wouldn't worry about it as was said young kids are hard on the "Clothes" and young birds are hard on the feathers. My teil, Nibble, looked like a duck on and off for a year from tearing up his tail feather.