• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

The Fine Line With Birds....sorry long....

Status
Not open for further replies.

BraveheartDogs

Cruising the avenue
Mayor of the Avenue
Real Name
Vicki
In talking to people and posting about Merlin, the spectacled amazon that I am fostering to adopt, I got to thinking about what I consider to be a very fine line in dealing with birds.

I train professionally so I read alot about behavior modification and training. In reading and researching behavior modification in birds there seems to be a contradiction in certain things, which may actually be part of where the art of training comes in.

I am a positive reinforcement trainer so I don't use force. I try to teach the animal to want to do what I am wanting to teach. So, when I read that you should never make a bird do something it is doesn't want to do, this makes sense and comes very naturally to me. However, you will also read that you have to be assertive and not react to being bitten. In my mind (and please, I don't mean to offend or insult anyone who has been bitten), but in my mind, if I get bitten, I have gone too far, missed some other piece of important body language and am therefore responsible for my behavior in pushing the animal to bite. On the other hand, I do believe that some birds, many birds may find a reaction to a bite reinforcing if not the actual reinforcement of the bite working to make you back off. We know that aggression can be learned, so we could be teaching the animal to bite.....

My question, to those of you who work with parrots regularly. Where do you draw that fine line in the sand where you choose to either back off because for whatever the reason the bird doesn't want "to" (whatever "to" may be at the moment, stepping on, getting into his cage, whatever) or push a bit and insist?