• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Seeking Advice - Possible Mating Behavior?

Frembly

Checking out the neighborhood
Hello,

I have a lovebird named Bubo, who is a rescue. He has a bracelet on his right leg which I understand generally indicates male. Today he began displaying new behavior involving arching his back and holding his wings out slightly. I took a video of it and will post below. This looks a lot like female mating behavior to me but I'm new to bird care so I'm not sure what to make of it. Would really appreciate any advice. Thank you!

Bubo's new behavior

Zara

♥❀Livin´ in Lovebird Land❀☼
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Hello, Welcome to Avian Avenue! :)

He has a bracelet on his right leg which I understand generally indicates male.
Because these birds are sexually monomophic I wouldn't take that as true. Unless the bird was DNA tested as a chick, which is very unlikely to take the sample, send it off, and receive it back before the chicks is two weeks old. If the bird had a dimorphic mutation (which yours does not) the right or left leg is pointless as the mutation will be visual.

It is a possibility your bird is female. However I have had males make those similar moves. A good indicator of being female is when they hold the wings wide open, and keep the pose held for some seconds at least. I have had males open their wings but never more than a second or two.

Female pose;
See how wide the wings are spread. Tail is lifted up.
IMG_20201004_005410.jpg

I have some videos I can share if you are still unsure :)
You may just need to wait a little while to see if any more notable indicators happen.

Frembly