• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Pictures New owner to Two lovebirds!

Huzaifa

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Huzaifa
IMG_20211016_151634.jpg
Hey! I am really excited to be a pet owner for the very first time! However, I am also very scared because it's my first time having any kind of pet, and I have to take care of these two all by myself because, frankly, I don't really trust my parents that much with them (they use their traditional methods and all).

Anyway, I got them a week ago and they seem to be not eating in my presence. My father said that he has seen them eating. Also they are like very very afraid of me. Idk why they hate me and my hand so much.

The cage is 18 inches in length, 14 in width and 16 in height. Before I got them, there was only a plastic perch, a nest house (of wood and metal), two simple swings and 2 feeders: one for food and one for water. I got them an actual wooden perch from a tree, a toy, and a lil bowl with millets. What can I do better?

I haven't really named them yet too. Suggestions?

Last edited by a moderator:

BirdLady13

Sprinting down the street
Welcome to the neighborhood!
1.) The cage you have them in is actually too small for even a single lovebird. At minimum a pair needs a cage that is 24”L X 18”W X 24”H. The bigger the better while maintaining proper bar spacing of 1/2".
2.) It's common for new birds, especially small ones, to be afraid of hands at first. They need to adjust to you and their new home. Having a pair is likely going to make it more of a challenge to bond and train.
3.) They don't need a nest box unless they're an active mating pair, which I hope they're not because that will definitely complicate things.
4.) Make sure the wood you're using is non-toxic and has been disinfected.
5.) They need multiple toys to keep them entertained and stimulated.