• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New Budgie Questions

pigeoncat

Checking out the neighborhood
Hello, I've just gotten two budgies a week ago and I am brand new to the species (Also to birds in general) so I have a few questions.

One is for when to start the taming process. Since I've only had mine for a week and most taming guides say that you should give them at least two weeks to get used to their surroundings but I had originally gotten one from my brother who had him for a week previously and the budgie seems pretty comfortable in the cage while my other one is still getting there. So I was wondering if I could start the taming process on him now or to still give him some time? Also when you go to start, what is the best way to start? I'm very nerous about making them uncomfortable in any way < : (

The next question is while one of the budgies is for sure male, my other one is a little unknown (They have a light blue cere and when I first got them I thought that signified male but I believe I saw something that said young budgies with light blue ceres are in fact female) and the two seem to get along quite nicely but they also have times where the male will annoy the other to the point where they'll start flapping their wings angrily and purposely shove him off the perch, this in turn gets the male annoyed and he'll angrily fly around the cage. But other then that they dont have any issues and I was wondering if that was normal behavior or if they should be separated

Thanks in advance!!!

Fergus Mom

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Elly
Hi @pigeoncat and a big :welcome2: :howdy: to the forum!