• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

I need some help with my lovebird

Dynasys

Meeting neighbors
Hey I've just joined this forum and this is my first time posting something on a forum of any kind so please let me know if I've left out any crucial information. I got a 7-8 week old lovebird last Sunday on the 23rd from an owner who hand raised her. My lovebird is comfortable around my presence as she doesn't fly away or appear scared when I enter the room and do work at my desk which is placed near her cage or when I sit beside her cage. She's also a pretty talkative bird, which surprised me because I read that they are pretty quite. The problem is whenever I slowly place my hand/finger near the cage, she immediately makes her way towards the cage and starts biting my finger. It's gotten to the point where I have to distract her with my other hand to replace her water and food. She's also moving a lot around her cage at certain points of the day, and is super calm at other times. These are most of my concerns and I understand it's been only 3 days so I've been patient and just keep my hand in a comfortable position for her (a couple inches away) the cage so she doesn't feel the need to bite it but it hasn't really been working. I'd be grateful for any tips or suggestions. Thanks, and again if I've missed out on any crucial information that might help with resolving this I'm more than happy to provide it. I'm looking forward to interacting with the bird community.

My plan right now is to wait it out a couple days while still being present in the room and ordering some lovebird treats (Nutri-berries) and hand feeding her with the hope that she associates my hand with the food rather than a need to bite. Let me know if this would work, thanks again.

Last edited:

Shezbug

ASK ME FOR PICTURES OF MY MACAW!
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran