• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

How much do you feed a 6 week baby macaw?

Blue's mom

Meeting neighbors
Hi everyone, I got a baby macaw 2 days ago... I'm new to taking care of a baby bird... the breeder said he's about 6 weeks old... so I'm worried If I'm under feeding him.... I feed him about 30ml a feeding... any info will be helpful :)

Zara

♥❀Livin´ in Lovebird Land❀☼
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
TAILGATING
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Hello, how much does your bird weigh?

(Thread moved to Macaw forum for better visibility amongst macaw owners)

Blue's mom

Meeting neighbors
Hello, how much does your bird weigh?

(Thread moved to Macaw forum for better visibility amongst macaw owners)
Hi, I'm not sure... I don't have a scale to weight him.

tka

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Get a gram scale as soon as possible - you need it to make sure that your baby is gaining weight steadily and to work out how much to feed. Generally you should aim to feed 10% of the body weight at each feeding so if he's 400g, he should be getting 40ml at a feed and so on.

I can't remember who has the excellent tables of baby macaw weights - is it @Macawnutz?

Can you take a photo of him? This will help people work out how old he is.

Blue's mom

Meeting neighbors
Get a gram scale as soon as possible - you need it to make sure that your baby is gaining weight steadily and to work out how much to feed. Generally you should aim to feed 10% of the body weight at each feeding so if he's 400g, he should be getting 40ml at a feed and so on.

I can't remember who has the excellent tables of baby macaw weights - is it @Macawnutz?

Can you take a photo of him? This will help people work out how old he is.