• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Feather plucking or molting

15huricane

Moving in
Hi, so just 2 weeks ago I got 2 beautiful green cheeked conures who are both 4 months old (almost 5) over the last couple of days, I've noticed that both of them have started to loose a bit of fluff on their chest. This is my first time owning birds. They are scratching a lot, preening more than usual, and getting a bit moody but as they are new to my home, I want to make sure they are actually molting and not having any other underlying issues as I've read theyre a bit too young to molt. What do your conures do when they molt?

Fuzzy

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Roz
Hi and :welcome2: Congrats on your 2 GCC - what are their names?

Just Googled and according to a couple of sites they can start molting as early as 5 months old depending on when they were hatched. When you say fluff is that down feathers (underneath white or grey fluffies) or coloured contour feathers? A photo of them would help. :)

15huricane

Moving in
Hi. Their names are Tiki and Cortez. 5 months? That's pretty young wow. They were hatched in early January (came from 2 different places). I don't know their genders as of yet.