• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Adult Female Cockatiel Breeding

Felixk321

Checking out the neighborhood
Hello,
I have had my female cockatiel for 5 1/2 years now. She is doing great, but I really got interested in breeding this year. I am confident i will be able to do it, although i need some helpful tips. If I buy her a male mate and put him in a cage next to her for a while, will they become used to each other and can i introduce them? The thing that is keeping me back here is the age of my 'Tiel. I researched that she is still able to breed and have healthy babies, but what is the age of the male that i should buy? Can i buy a mature male or do i have to buy a baby and wait for him to grow? I am no expert in breeding, and any tips and help would be greatly appreciated :)

Thank you!!!

Cloud

Strolling the yard
I think it will be up to the cockatiel. I have two cockatiels and they are only one month apart. They sleep together at night. When they wake up, my male keeps nipping at her, and I had to separate the two. She got trauma and now she gives him warning bite every time when he gets close to her, even when he was trying to flirt with her. She learned that the best defense is a good offense.

SkyLark

Jogging around the block