• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

ABBA 5000 (Bean Soaking Mix)

peachypjm

Strolling the yard
Hi ! I have no experience with soaking or sprouting, so I picked up the ABBA 5000 mix at my local bird speciality store ! the directions are a little unclear and when I tried to google it for any tutorials I couldn't find anything ! I was wondering if anyone could help me out with this? I'm scared I'll mess something up and make my bird sick!

CrazyKozmo

Jogging around the block
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Rebecca
There are a few beans that are safe to give parrots when sprouted....adzuki, garbanzo, lentils. Other members, please chime in....I think my memory is failing!! My fids don't care for legumes, so I only have a limited knowledge on the subject.
That said, I get all of my sprouting grains and supplies from sproutpeople.com. They also have tutorials on their website. Basically, you soak the grains in water (and I add a teaspoon of white vinegar to the soak, to reduce bacteria growth) overnight (8-12 hours). Drain and rinse really well. Let your sprouter sit out (not in the sun, just on the counter). Rinse it again before you go to bed. Keep rinsing, morning and night, until they're at the desirable length of root (for grains, usually about 36 hours for me). Then store the sprouter (no water in it) in the fridge. Rinse it again prior to feeding. Only sprout enough for about 3 days (keeps it fresh), if they like it...it's time for a new batch! I've been feeding my fids fresh sprouts for breakfast daily for about 5 years.

peachypjm

Strolling the yard
There are a few beans that are safe to give parrots when sprouted....adzuki, garbanzo, lentils. Other members, please chime in....I think my memory is failing!! My fids don't care for legumes, so I only have a limited knowledge on the subject.