• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Zebra finch suddenly died

kanth

Strolling the yard
My zebra finch died today. He was taking a nap and didn't wake up. I don't know what happened, I'm new to finches but I thought I was taking good care of him. He had a friend, a male society finch, they got along really well. I looked the finch over and he seems to have had some sort of skin irritation on parts of his chest. A little on the thin side but he was very active, he ate plenty. No sneezing, wheezing, odd behavior, he was acting completely normal. Should I be worried about my other finch? My parrots are in the same room he lived in, should I be worried about them?

greys4u

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
If you have a vet I would call and explain the situation and see what they suggest

greys4u

Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Is there an emergency vet you could call?

TikiMyn

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Robin
I am sorry for your loss.
Could you catch the society finch and check if he has the same irritation?(Don't know a lot about finches, if you think that is too stressfull then don't of course:) )No idea what could have happened, I think you have done all you can at the moment
@finchly @Clairecanary15 @Serin

greys4u

Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Good you called the vet, proud of you

kanth

Strolling the yard
I am sorry for your loss.
Could you catch the society finch and check if he has the same irritation?(Don't know a lot about finches, if you think that is too stressfull then don't of course:) )No idea what could have happened, I think you have done all you can at the moment
@finchly @Clairecanary15 @Serin