• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Update on Rosie

Yve Benwell

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Yvonne Usher-Benwell
Hi folks, It has been a while since I joined after adopting a rescue canary called Rosie and life has taken on a whole new routine, which is fantastic, but, I am worried about her.

I am a total novice when it comes to bird care but have learned so much from the posts on here and by researching on the web and for that I thank each and everyone of you. However, I really need some help again please.

Rosie has been very quiet over the last week and is looking a bit tatty (not as sleek as she normally is), is this how they get with seasonal molt? If so, is there anything specific I should be doing at this time for her?

Thanks in advance for any help xxx

Clairecanary15

Sprinting down the street
Real Name
Claire
Hi

What a lovely name bless her.

Have you seen the odd stray feather? This would show that the moult is upon her. Some do go quiet and feel sorry for themselves ..other get through it like a pleasant walk in the park lol.

If she is moulting get some feather fast as advised to me by @finchly. They need protein too..meal worms or egg food. I fed my single birds a very small teaspoon of mealworms or eggfood ..with a sprinkle of feather fast daily. They need their daily greens too and their crushed oyster for calcium..im sure you know this part.. oh yes they like to have access to a bath during the moult. They also feel the cold more too..this might be why Rosie is puffed up.

If it isnt due to the moult then she needs extra care ..finchly is the expert with this.

Serin