• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME!

BigSkyMT

Walking the driveway
I need all you parrot experts to help me. I just found this site & signed up hoping for help and to learn. I have been researching parrots for many many months, when I say research I mean reading hours a day, I've watched almost every single youtube video about training & taming. My husband & I finally decided we are ready to add a bird to our family. We do not have any children yet, waiting atleast another 3-5 years for children. But, we are definitely ready for a bird! We just spent almost $1,000 on a nice prevue cage, toys, treats, ect. I looked around for parrots that are in need of a home on craigslist and newspapers, but they are very limited and far away. (300+ miles) I found a cockatiel breeder 2 hours away. I connected with her & made the drive a week ago to take a look. The babies were 5 weeks old. I really liked the little yellow one, he was calm and quieter than the others and believed to be the only male. He wasn't standing on his feet like his siblings, that kind of worried me, but the breeder said some just mature later than others & he is fine, he is also smaller than the rest. So anyways I put a deposit on him. I made the 2 hour drive again today. She brought him out & I got him to step up on my finger! You can only imagine my excitement! Then he flew away & I went to grab him from the floor. I picked him up but he tried to bite me. I put him back on his perch in his box she brought him out on. He then flew away again, this time into their livingroom window. The woman had to grab him from behind the couch, she said she needed to clip his wings a little more. She grabbed him & tried cutting his wings, he freaked out, I asked of she wanted help & when I went to grab him he latched onto my thumb! It hurt a bit & she said when they latch