• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Sad situation with male Eclectus

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodle Bird

Jogging around the block
Real Name
Patricia
There is a situation that I may need help with: An aquantence of mine has a plucked male eclectus that has been abused (her husband is a LOSER). She is trying to find a home for it. He has been passed around previously and I'm not sure how old he is. I've never seen him so I'm not sure how bad he is. I do know she took him to the vet and they seem to think it is behavioral (and I'm thinking possibly the diet plays a role too). I don't know anyone who wants him and I am considering taking him in until I can find a forever home. However, I have NO experience with Eclectus or pluckers. I am nervous about it because I want to help him but don't want to bite off more than I can chew. I live in a small apt with two Caiques so space is also an issue. I'm going to see on Wednesday and was planning on talking to her about it. Any suggestions??

ThatDarnBird

Rollerblading along the road
If the husband is an abuser please be very careful, the bird could be a very emotionally charged topic for them. I hope you are able to help.

marian

Cruising the avenue
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
I would say if you can, by all means take the bird in. Even if it's only a soft safe place for this bird to land. If the husband is an abuser, I can only imagine the type of life, this bird has had to have.Keep us updated on what happens.

greymatron

Real Name
Nicole
If its temporary and you know you can find a home for him, yes, but be warned that they can be and ARE loud. I hope Ekkie owners step in..but I've seen them at rescues and although it does not bother me, unless your neighbors are very tolerant of loud noise...I'd be wary.

sodakat

Real Name
Kathy