1. Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Possible To Breed Lovebirds & Budgies Together?

Discussion in 'Bird Boulevard' started by HungryBird, 8/12/11.

1. HungryBird

HungryBird Rollerblading along the road

Obviously I'm not going to be doing this! Just curious. Someone posted elsewhere that they had a lovebird and a budgie in the same cage as they were bonded to each other and then eggs appeared. One of them hatched. They posted pictures but I can't really tell if it is a normal baby budgie or a normal baby lovebird because I have no experience with baby birds. It definitely looks weird to me.

I told them I had heard that it is possible for birds to breed even when they are separated by cage bars so maybe that was what happened. This person has other budgies so I figured maybe one of them snuck over when no one was looking. The lovebird is very protective of the budgie though so that might not have worked so well.

I'm not advocating mixing different species at all and the person who posted these pictures wasn't trying to get this to happen either. They seemed very surprised and are looking for answers. No one has been able to give them any concrete answers so I decided to try to find someone who might know. I did suggest asking they ask their vet if they can determine whether it is a cross between a budgie and a lovebird or just a budgie.

2. expressmailtome

expressmailtome Ripping up the road Administrator Celebirdy of the Month Mayor of the Avenue Avenue Spotlight Award Avenue Veteran

Matthew
    No it is not possible for them to cross breed. It must have been another budgie.

Matt

bubblelady likes this.
  3. lotus15

lotus15 Cruising the avenue Celebirdy of the Month Mayor of the Avenue Avenue Spotlight Award Avenue Veteran

Coco
    I agree with Matt... not possible.

bubblelady likes this.
  4. TITANIS