• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New bird mom and 3 month old cockatiel - hello!

Rallio

Moving in
Hello to everyone!
As the title suggests, I've got a young cockatiel (Ventus) and it's my first time bringing a bird home. I've had mostly rodent friends until now, so I am somewhat prepared for the "building trust with a prey animal" dynamic.
Ventus (in my profile pic!) is a super sweetie, we've only been together for a week but s/he's already excited to perch on my shoulder, beak my hair and cheek, and (attempt?) singing with their beak literally placed as far into my ear canal as it can go. I'm in love.
Since this is my first time with a bird, I know I have a lot to learn, so please be patient if I end up with a ton of questions!!
To that end! My first question is about bathing...
I noticed yesterday that Ventus was cleaning theirself a LOT more than previous days, and a small amount of down feathers were discarded while s/he did so. Small amount being maybe a dozen, to my knowledge. Also, Ventus was taking particular note to chew his/her feet over and over. There is no blood, or I would be at the vet instead of posting here lol but the frequency of foot chewing was concerning. I thought to offer a bath, which didn't go well, so I tried misting.. Which went worse. At this age, I should still bathe him/her, right? So I ought to try new ways? I don't want to overstimulate and stress the sweetie, so I hoped for some advice before going for another day of no fun.
Thanks for reading, and thanks in advance for any advice!

sierraecho89

Sprinting down the street
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Seraphina
Hiya! Welcome to the forum!

> I've had mostly rodent friends until now, so I am somewhat prepared for the "building trust with a prey animal" dynamic.