• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Choosing a Cockatiel

A new cockatiel for starter

• young one

Votes: 4 40.0%
  • old one

Votes: 6 60.0%

• Total voters

Eriz

Moving in
Hello everyone

I am new to breed a bird. But I'm interested in Cockatiels. I have visited near pet shops and found 2 birds I like. One is about 1 year old and my favourite color. Another one is about 3 or 4 months old. Which one should I choose? Both are tame and not biting but I prefer the young one for better relationship. I also worry because I am new to it. Please advise me.

finchly

Cruising the avenue
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Finchly
Either one would be a good pet. Cockatiels are easy going. Keep visiting them and go with your gut. Or get both so they have a friend. :)

cassiesdad

Ripping up the road
Weather Authority
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avian Angel
Real Name
Bob Weisman
Welcome to the Avenue.

You're really not talking about a huge difference in ages here. Either bird would be a fine choice.

May I make a suggestion...visit with both birds, one at a time. You never know....maybe one of the birds will pick YOU...;)

Lady Jane

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Dianne
Are you choosing them to breed?

blewin

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Ben
Either age tiel will be fine. I would follow cassiesdad's suggestion and visit both again. 'Tiels do choose, and you might want to see which one more readily interacts with you. When we saw Buddy, we didn't think we were going to get a 'tiel yet, but she hopped on us and pretty much refused to get off.

Things haven't changed much, since...LOL.

Eriz

Moving in
Thank you all of your replies.