• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Baby quaker help!

reffek94

Walking the driveway
Avenue Veteran
I recently bought a baby quaker (blue pallid). The breeder told me she was 9 weeks old and fully weaned. I told her I have plenty of bird experience ( parrotlets to macaws) but I have zero experience in handfeeding because all of my birds have been rescued and older. I stressed to her I literally have no clue about any aspect of hand feeding. She assured me that the baby was fully weaned. I got him or her (no DNA yet?) back home on Friday night. All night she was bobbing and flicking her wings so it had me a little worried that she was hungry. I kept a close eye on her and she literally continued every second that I was watching her nonstop. By the next morning I walked out to the living room in the morning and as soon as she saw me she started her bobbing and wing flicking again. Literally nonstop. She will do it for hours as long as she sees me. She is always out with me when I'm home but she keeps on. I tried to get in touch with the breeder but no answer other than "try spoon feeding her baby food." She wouldn't take it so I got some hand feeding formula and read up and watched videos of hand feeding. When she saw the syringe she just about lost it running around on the table freaking out trying to get to it. The issue I'm having is that I have no idea how much or how often to feed her. I have been feeding her once in the morning and again at night. Should I be feeding her more often? How much should i feed her at a time? I've read so many thing and some people say no more than 10cc and others are saying 24cc. I dont want to stretch her crop but I dont want her to starve please help me guys! I have experience with Quakers and I know they "quake" but I've never had a quaker do it all the time.

Mizzely

Lil Monsters Bird Toys