• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

what are some weird quirks your birds have?

rabbitic

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Tommy (they/he)
i'm a newbie to bird care, but all the birds i've met in my life have been absolutely bursting with personality. birds can be the strangest, goofiest little creatures sometimes i swear.
so, what are some silly or weird things your bird does during their day-to-day? it'd be hard to list every weird thing about lamarr, but a few immediately come to mind.

firstly, he's a little overly curious about people's faces. especially their eyes. other starling owners have told me this is fairly common, and i really wish i knew that before he decided my shoulder is his favorite napping spot. :roflmao: people are always so taken by the thoughtful stare he seems to do when looking at their faces, but i've come to know that as a sign i need to issue a warning! you just can't let his sweet little face fool you.

second thing is his vocalizations. now, i'm very aware that starlings are chatty birds. very aware :laugh: however, he has a particularly interesting one in which he somehow makes the exact same sound he makes whenever he poops. i don't know if this is purposeful mimicry or just a weird sound he likes to make because he thinks it's fun (he's young, so i think it's the latter) but he always does this when sitting on my shoulder, chest, etc. and even though i don't think he does it with any real intention, he absolutely finds it entertaining when people panic because they think he pooped on them. i swear lamarr is like, 75% chutzpah and mischief and 25% actual bird.