• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Vet? Help? Questions?

Sunni Tiel

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Rachel
OK, so i'm taking Sunni (cockatiel) to the vet sometime soon for a check up and because I'm concerned about his wing. I need help finding a good vet in south west Missouri, any recommendations? I'm considering the James River Animal hospital, because they treat birds and have good reviews but I can't find any good avian specialized vets. I have NO EXPERIENCE whatsoever with vets, this is Sunni's first visit and I'm gonna need lots of help.
First, I would like to know what I'm looking for.
Do vets do check ups or do I need to ask them specifically for certain tests?
What tests do I need to ask for?
What should I tell them and ask?
I told you I have no idea what I'm doing so sorry for all the questions.
Are there common diseases I should check for?
Poop test?
How much does this cost?
I apologise again for my ignorance, I just want to make sure I know what I'm doing. Any and all information is greatly appreciated. Thanks!!!

Last edited:

taxidermynerd

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Bee (they/he)
Just tell them the details of any concerns you have, answer their questions, and they will tell you their plan of action. A good vet should be willing to do checkups, even if you don't have a specific concern.

A good vet will answer any questions you have. A good vet will also admit if they don't have an answer for you.

And remember that if you don't feel satisfied with the care provided for any reason, you have every right to seek out another opinion.

Shezbug

ASK ME FOR PICTURES OF MY MACAW!
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
TAILGATING
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Real Name
Shez