• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

??? Stress marks??

SumitaSinh

Rollerblading along the road
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
I saw these spots on Pestaa's wing. Do you think these are due to some nutritional problem? In photos, color seems lighter, but actually they are dark, nearly black in color.

Attachments

flyzipper

Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Steve
I'm not an expert about this, but I'm pretty sure stress marks which are due to nutrition issues will be evident on new feather growth.
Discolouration on older feathers can be explained by wear, abrasion, oils from human hands, etc.
Since Pestaa is relatively new to you, if they are stress marks, they're from the past owner.
Either way, that's how they are until the next molt, but you'll probably see an improvement after.

@Mizzely may know more about this too.

SumitaSinh

Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Thank you so much.

SumitaSinh

Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Is there black marking normally, in hahns macaw feathers? I can see more black spots on deeper wing feathers.

Shezbug

ASK ME FOR PICTURES OF MY MACAW!
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
TAILGATING
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Real Name
Shez
Sorry, I can’t tell much from your pics.

This is a closer pic of some stress bars which are very often seen on babies, they are sometimes due to temperature changes which is what Burt’s were most likely caused from as there had been excessive power outages in the area while he was developing. They basically happen as nutrition is diverted away from the growing feather to other necessary body functions such as keeping warm.