• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Starting out breeder

Status
Not open for further replies.

Willzilla

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
William
Hi im quite new to this. I am building an aviary with 2 flights one bigger than the other. I was planning on having 1 pair of cockatiels and 2 pairs of budgies in the bigger flight. And in the smaller one maybe 1 pair of ringnecks but im not sure because they are loud and to hard at the moment. So maybe in the smaller one I might have lovebirds or some sort of smallish bird. I know someone that is a budgie breeder he has lori's and some kind of rosella. He is experienced and has been helping me out and said I should start with budgies or cockatiels because they are more easy going and I want to anyway! I was wondering depending on the birds personalities, would I be able to handle the baby's in the nest so they become a bit more tame? I got to hold and see some budgie baby's and :D :D :D

I have had my first cockatiel for 3 months now i got him 1 week out of the nest and just the other day he started letting me give him scritches :D Im going well.

Also what kind of things will I need to have around for baby's? Im going to buy some syringes and feeding formula. If something goes wrong the vet isnt far and I can call people. I would love to hand raise some babys but have to go to school but what could i do to help make the baby's tame? Im tired so I cant remember my other questions :p

Thanks for helping in advance!

Greycloud

Joyriding the Neighborhood
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Well, first you need to have a beeder take you under their wing, so to speek. Do not attempt handfeeding by yourself. The only way to get experience is by doing it, with guidance. Even the most experienced breeders lose babies due to accidents.