• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Palm Nuts to Good Home

BeakFace

Jogging around the block
Avenue Veteran
I didn't think I would ever do this again but what we do for the birds! Anyway free if you pay shipping. I guess the best way is Priority and put as much as you can in the box. I'm not going to clean them and dry them like I have done in the past. Last time I had someone cut some down it was to much work but this time the tree wasn't as tall and their not so filthy dirty! I rinse mine and let them dry for a couple of weeks in my kitchen. They turn rock hard and brown. I'm not an expert but I was getting these for Luci's original owner and she told me how she does it and what color to look for. So I am continuing to do the same. This is the first time I have found some ripe enough since I have adopted Luci Dec 31, 2013. Some people I think like them green. Photo above shows them well! I just got them cut down today. Its 97 degrees here in Florida and the rest of them on in the garage for the night. I think they will actually ripen on the vine even after being cut! Poe wouldn't eat them so I did it strickly to mail to people who were a part of the Palmy Mommy Group and at my expense. It was my idea not to charge but the shipping really got expensive. So if anyone wants some let me know. I can only keep so many and just hate to throw them out knowing the big guys will enjoy them. I pay the same for the man to cut the whole cluster down for me so its just costing my time to mail them and I don't mind. Anxious to see if Poe will change his mind and try them out. This is luci's favorite nut. This tree is in a neighbor yard and no insecticides have been used. We have had so much rain and I guess that's why this bunch is so clean. He has many Queen Palms on his property so I have permission to get as many as I want when they are available. L