• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Need help with aggressive macaw

bee

Checking out the neighborhood
Hello, I am in need of some advice.... I'm sorry, I'm sure there are other posts similar to this one, but I couldn't find anything specific to my situation.

We recently adopted and blue and gold macaw who plucked herself but was otherwise sweet and healthy. She would cuddle, go on walks, help with cooking, etc. Now, about a month later, we are having problems, and I feel that we have tried everything. We are very close to putting her back up for adoption.

Before I explain, I'll let you know that we have three conures in the house, my babies, and have had other larger birds like cockatoos, african greys, and macaws around when roommates share the house. I have had lots of experience with parrots and have read lots of parrot behavior books (Mattie Sue Athan, etc). I am not a beginner aviculturist, but find myself up to my neck in this one!

"Sky" has become very unpredictable. She constantly lunges at little kid's faces (which is unacceptable, since we usually have friends over, and my little sister cannot even walk into the kitchen) and switches "mates" quickly and unpredictably. One day, she loved cuddling with me, purring as I scratched her head, the usual... the next day I came downstairs and she started lunging at me.
- I tried putting her on a lower cage so she is looking UP at us rather than looking DOWN at us... no use.
- I tried "laddering" her (step-ups from arm to arm) every time she lunges/bites (I still do this) but this doesn't work either. She will be laddering just fine then suddenly bite me on the arm, for no reason that I can see.
- I have tried spending more time with her, but this is useless. I spent all day with her once, took her on walks, etc, then my mom (her "mate") came in the house and she lunged at my face!